Child Support Enforcement Division
Stephen M. Klump, Esq., Acting Director
The Child Support Enforcement Program is a state and federal program to collect support from Non-custodial Parents. Its primary mission is to maximize the collection of child support for all New Mexico Children.
Inside New Mexico
Out New Mexico
KIDS Line - Payment information over the phone
Need a quick answer on your child support case? Call 800-759-5437. You can hear the most current payment information, report a change of employer or address, request an application for services, or leave information on a CSED case. If you already have a CSED case, have your case number ready for authorization. The KIDS line is open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week for your convenience.
eCSE - Payment Information on the web
Information about your Child Support Enforcement Case is also directly available from the New Mexico Child Support Enforcement (eCSE) website - 7 days a week, 24 hours a day. Sign up is required.
For adults who are not receiving TANF or Medicaid, you can download an application for child support services, please read it carefully!
Applications can also be submitted on line 7 days a week, 24 hours a day. using the New Mexico Child Support Enforcement (eCSE) website –.
State Child Support Enforcement agencies are required by federal and state laws to help families receiving TANF funds by collecting child support payments. Families who are not on TANF may also apply to CSED for services. Services for TANF families are provided without charge; families not on TANF may be charged fees for services provided.
For those who do not wish full Child Support Enforcement Services but whose child support is ordered to be paid by Income Withholding, a request may be made to have CSED open a Non-IV-D case for payment processing only. The request for a Non-IV-D case must be completed and CSED given a chance to create the case and provide the case id to the party requesting it. The case number must be included in the court order so that the employer may correctly direct payment to CSED.
Attention Custodial Parents!
Please Choose Your Preferred Method to Receive Your Payments Electronically
If you are a custodial parent who has not yet signed up to receive your payments electronically via the New Mexico Child Support Prepaid Debit Card or directly deposited to your existing bank account, please do so right away! Both methods are faster and more secure than paper checks. Instead of waiting for child support checks to arrive through the mail, the money goes directly to your debit card or personal bank account. Custodial parents are now required by state regulation (188.8.131.52.B NMAC) to receive their child support payments by direct deposit or prepaid debit card. Please note that if you have more than one case with CSED, your selection will apply to all of your cases.
The New Mexico Child Support Prepaid Debit Card
To sign up for the New Mexico Child Support Prepaid Debit Card simply download the “NM PDC Enrollment Form” below and fax the form to the New Mexico State Disbursement Unit at 505-476-3920.
Once activated, you may use your New Mexico Child Support Prepaid Debit Card for purchases anywhere Visa® debit cards are accepted: grocery stores, pharmacies, child care centers, dental offices, kid's stores, restaurants, and online for mail order and catalog purchases. You can also use your card to get cash at ATMs. Remember, funds are limited to the amount of your child support paid and are deducted for every purchase or withdrawal.
For more information please contact our Customer Service Information Center at: Inside New Mexico (800) 288-7207 or Outside of New Mexico (800) 585-7631
Custodial parents choosing to receive their child support payments by direct deposit to their existing bank account may download the “Direct Deposit Authorization” form below or have a copy mailed to them by calling the CSED Customer Service Center at (800) 288-7207 for callers in New Mexico, or (800) 585-7631 for callers outside New Mexico. The CSED Customer Service Center is open from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday, Mountain Standard Time.
Please return the completed form to:
P.O. Box 2348
Santa Fe, NM 87504-2348
Alternatively, you can obtain a User ID and PIN to access your case information
and enter your direct deposit authorization on-line at: http://childsupport.hsd.state.nm.us/clink
It will take up to 10 days to get your User ID and PIN in the mail
Other state agencies and employers wanting information on Electronic Funds Transfers should contact:
NM State Disbursement Unit
Adam Medina, ASD
Santa Fe, NM 87504-2348
FAX (505) 476-3920
This is NOT the contact for case or child support information!
Such requests should go to Customer Service:
In state (800) 288-7207
Out of state (800) 585-7631
Fresh Start Program
The "Fresh Start" Arrears Management Program for child support cases is here. This is your opportunity to get a real fresh start with your obligations to your children!
You might be eligible to renegotiate your past due amounts to a dollar figure that is more manageable in exchange for a lump sum payment or more reliable payments to the custodial parent. Together, we can have that fresh start by looking at the specifics of your case and getting it to a point that is more manageable, or where you can pay it off earlier.
Does this sound too good to be true? Call us at (888) 293-0825 to find out more and let us discuss how we can help.
To be eligible for the "Fresh Start" Arrears Management Program, your child support case must meet at least one of the following criteria:
- All dependents are emancipated, or
- The most current order is solely for collection of arrears (CSED is not collecting ongoing child support), or
- The parties have reconciled and are cohabitating, or
- The NCP must pay at least a three months lump sum payment (ongoing child support plus payment toward arrears) or must have met his/her last three months obligation (ongoing child support payment plus payment towards arrears). (Involuntary payments, i.e. tax intercepts, FIDM, bond payments do not count toward the monthly obligation or lump sum requirement.)
If the case meets one of the above criteria, the case must also have over $1,000.00 of arrears assigned to the State of New Mexico.
Cases where the custodial parent is actively receiving TANF funds are not eligible for the Arrears Management Program