

Media Contact: Matt Kennicott (505) 819-1402 Matt.Kennicott@state.nm.us

March 2, 2015 For Immediate Release

Planning on Hunting or Fishing in 2015? Be Sure You Are Current on Your Child Support Obligation.

Child Support Enforcement Division Teams up with the Department of Game and Fish to

Ensure Compliance with the Parental Responsibility Act

SANTA FE – The New Mexico Human Services Department's (HSD) Child Support Enforcement Division (CSED) and the New Mexico Department of Game and Fish (DGF) are reminding all non-custodial parents who are interested in hunting or fishing licenses that they must first be in compliance with the Parental Responsibility Act (PRA).

"The Parental Responsibility Act requires parents to meet their child support obligations in order to maintain several types of state issued licenses. Game and fish licenses are some of the most sought after in New Mexico," said Brent Earnest, HSD Secretary-Designate. "So if you have not met your responsibility, plan on paying up or staying home during this year's hunting and fishing seasons."

Each year approximately 16,000 non-custodial parents who are 30-days or more delinquent in their child support payments are referred to the New Mexico licensing agencies that provide recreational and professional licenses for potential license suspension or revocation. The names and other identifying information are matched against each agency's system to determine whether or not a license should be revoked or an applicant can be denied a license due to unpaid child support.

"There are several ways to come into compliance, either by the delinquent non-custodial parent paying their arrears in full, or by paying a substantial portion of their delinquency and agreeing to certain conditions to get back on track with regular payments," said Steven Smith CSED Director.

Since the PRA was enacted in 1995, New Mexico has collected nearly \$27 million in lump sum payments from delinquent parents who have come into compliance with their child support obligation due to a license suspension or revocation. In 2014, 1,259 names were matched against the Department of Game and Fish records, of which 1,222 licenses were revoked. Of those, 514 Game and Fish licenses were granted after the license applicant became compliant with the PRA. A total of \$52,619.69 was collected in 2014 from the 514 people, all of which went directly to the families and children involved in the child support cases.

"The Department of Game and Fish works closely with the Human Services Department, Child Support Enforcement Division to ensure that people who are delinquent in their child support are not issued any type of hunting, fishing or trapping license," said Alexa Sandoval, NMDGF Director. "The Department has dedicated resources and an upgraded licensing system that ensures all sportsmen are in compliance with the Parental Responsibility Act."

Delinquent non-custodial parents interested in obtaining a game or fish license, or one of the other 63 recreational or occupational licenses participating in the PRA, can visit one of the 14 CSED offices across the state to pay their arears and get a certificate of compliance.

A list of the CSED offices across the state can be found on the HSD website at http://www.hsd.state.nm.us/csed/fieldoffices.html#top. Individuals with questions may contact CSED toll free at: (800) 288-7207 in-state or (800) 585-7631 out-of-state.

The New Mexico CSED set yet another record in child support collections during State Fiscal Year 2014 with a total of \$137.1 million collected and distributed to families, which is nearly \$5 million more than the previous year.