New Mexico Interagency Behavioral Health Purchasing Collaborative

Collaboration for Recovery, Resiliency and Empowerment



Aging and Long-Term Services Department

Administrative Office of the Courts

Children, Youth and Families Department

New Mexico Corrections Department

Department of Finance and Administration

Department of Health

Department of Workforce Solutions

> Department of Transportation

Developmental Disabilities Planning Council

> Division of Vocational Rehabilitation

Governor's Commission on Disability

Governor's Health Policy Advisor

Health Policy Commission

Human Services Department

Indian Affairs Department

Mortgage Finance Authority

Public Education Department

PO Box 2348 Santa Fe, NM 87504-2348 Contact: Betina Gonzales McCracken (505) 476-6205

January 28, 2010 For Immediate Release

'Behavioral Health Day' at the Legislature Celebrates 18 New Mexicans Who Are Champions of Behavioral Health in Their Local Communities

SANTA FE – Today the New Mexico Behavioral Health Collaborative (Collaborative) and the Behavioral Health Planning Council (BHPC) will honor 18 New Mexicans during the Fourth Annual 'Behavioral Health Day at the Legislature' during a noon awards ceremony at the State Capitol Rotunda in Santa Fe.

"These five women and 13 men are STARS in New Mexico for their personal achievements, contributions and dedication to behavioral health issues," said Linda Roebuck Homer, Collaborative CEO.

The 18 STARS represent their communities through the 18 local collaboratives across the state and will be honored with certificates of appreciation signed by Governor Bill Richardson for their accomplishments. The 2010 STARS are:

- 1. Bruce Evans, Santa Fe
- 2. Alex Medina, Albuquerque
- 3. Tom Taylor, Las Cruces
- 4. Mickey Dowling, Las Vegas
- 5. Joel Jolley, Roswell
- 6. Amanda Guice, Silver City
- 7. Angie Coburn, Moriarty
- 8. Calvin Glenn, Clayton
- 9. Carol Henderson, Clovis
- 10. Robert Fluhman, Roy
- 11. Tami Lewis, Farmington
- 12. Oscar Cereceres, Alamogordo
- 13. Nathan Vaisa, Rio Rancho
- 14. Antonette Silva-José Laguna
- 15. Raymond Mosely Gallup
- 16. Matt Montano Bernalillo
- 17. Jimmy Lujan Albuquerque
- 18. Gov. Rick Vigil Pueblo of Tesuque

Senator Mary Kay Papen and Representative Edward C. Sandoval sponsored Senate Joint Memorial 10, proclaiming January 28, 2010 to be 'Behavioral Health Day at the Legislature.' This year's theme for exhibitors is *Workforce Development and Training – Providing Useful Tools During These Difficult Economic Times*.

About the Collaborative

The Collaborative was created during the 2004 Legislature to allow most state agencies and resources involved in behavioral health treatment and recovery to work as one in an effort to improve mental health and substance abuse services in New Mexico. This cabinet-level group represents 15 agencies and Governor Bill Richardson's office.