## DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 601 E. 12th St., Room 355 Kansas City, Missouri 64106



Medicaid and CHIP Operations Group

September 22, 2022

Ms. Nicole Comeaux Director Medical Assistance Division New Mexico Human Services Department 2025 South Pacheco Drive P.O. Box 2348 Santa Fe, New Mexico 87504-2348

Re: New Mexico State Plan Amendment (SPA) 22-0016

Dear Ms. Comeaux:

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) reviewed your Medicaid State Plan Amendment (SPA) submitted under transmittal number (TN) 22-0016. This amendment proposes to implement changes to state plan limits on amounts for necessary medical or remedial care to comply with 42 CFR 435.725(c)(4).

We conducted our review of your submittal according to statutory requirements in Title XIX of the Social Security Act and implementing regulations 42 CFR 435.725(c)(4). This letter is to inform you that New Mexico Medicaid SPA 22-0016 was approved on September 22, 2022, with an effective date of December 1, 2022.

If you have any questions, please contact Peter Banks at (415) 744-3782 or via email at Peter.Banks@cms.hhs.gov.

Sincerely,

James G. Scott, Director Division of Program Operations

cc:

- Nicole Comeaux
- Valerie Tapia
- Donna Lopez

TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF STATE PLAN MATERIAL	1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER 2. STATE 2 2 — 0 0 1 6 N M	
FOR: CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES	3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT	
	XIX XXI	
TO: CENTER DIRECTOR CENTERS FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES	4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE	
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES	December 1, 2022	
5. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION	6. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT (Amounts in WHOLE dollars) a FFY 23 \$ 363,290	
42 CFR 435.725(c)(4)	b. FFY 24 \$ 435,952	
7. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT	PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable)	
Supplement 3 to Attachment 2.6-A pg. 1	Supplement 3 to Attachment 2.6-A pg. 1 (93-12)	
9. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT Post-Eligibility Treatment of Income - New Mexico is implementing the PETI deduction for necessary medical or remedial care.		
10. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One)		
GOVERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL	ICE ENCLOSED Authority delegated to the Medicaid Director	
11. SIGNATURE OF STATE AGENCY OFFICIAL	15. RETURN TO	
Startle Comerce		
12. TYPED NAME Nicole Comeaux	Nicole Comeaux, J.D., M.P.H., Director	
13. TITLE	Medical Assistance Division	
Director, Medical Assistance Division	P.O. Box 2348 Santa Fe, NM 87504-2348	
14. DATE SUBMITTED	Santa Fe, Nivi 07 304-2340	
July 1, 2022  FOR CMS USE ONLY		
16. DATE RECEIVED July 1, 2022	17. DATE APPROVED September 22, 2022	
PLAN APPROVED - ONE COPY ATTACHED		
18. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL  December 1, 2022	19. SIGNATURE OF APPROVING OFFICIAL	
20. TYPED NAME OF APPROVING OFFICIAL	21. TITLE OF APPROVING OFFICIAL	
James G. Scott	Director, Division of Program Operations	
22. REMARKS		

## STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

State: New Mexico

## REASONABLE LIMITS ON AMOUNTS FOR NECESSARY MEDICAL OR REMEDIAL CARE NOT COVERED UNDER MEDICAID

For expenses not covered under the State Plan or expenses covered under the State Plan, but not paid for by Medicaid, the amount of the deduction is the billed amount not to exceed the provider's usual and customary charges except for unpaid nursing facility expenses.

To be deducted, an expense must be for medically necessary medical or remedial care rendered to the applicant or beneficiary and prescribed by a health care practitioner acting within their scope of practice who meet the qualifications of an eligible Medicaid provider as listed in the New Mexico Administrative Code "Professional Providers, Services, and Reimbursement", even if such practitioner is not a Medicaid provider.

A deduction for incurred medically necessary non-covered medical or remedial care expenses will be allowed when the bill is incurred during a period which is no more than three months prior to the month of the current application. For each month of unpaid nursing facility services incurred during this period, deductions are allowed at an amount not to exceed the average monthly private rate of nursing facility services, as used to calculate asset transfer penalties and which is updated annually in the New Mexico Administrative Code "Resource Standards" section (or a prorated amount of this figure, for unpaid nursing facility services that are for less than a full month).

The deduction for medical and remedial care expenses that were incurred as the result of a transfer penalty period is limited to zero.

Expenses for cosmetic/elective procedures (e.g., face lifts or liposuction etc.) are not allowed as deductions except when prescribed by a health care practitioner.

Expenses from medical or remedial procedures that were denied coverage by an insurer, including Medicaid, on the basis of a lack of medical necessity are not allowed.

TN No2	22-0016	Approval Date: <u>9/22/2022</u>
Supersedes TN N	Jo. 93-12	Effective Date: <u>12/1/2022</u>