
 

 

 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 

7500 Security Boulevard, Mail Stop S2-14-26 

Baltimore, Maryland   21244-1850 
 

Center for Medicaid and CHIP Services 
Disabled and Elderly Health Programs Group 

 

 

March 21, 2016 

 

 

Ms. Nancy Smith-Leslie, Director 

Medical Assistance Division 

P.O. Box 2348 

Santa Fe, NM 87504-2348 

 

Attention: Jennifer Mondragon, Health Care Operations Manager 

 

Dear Ms. Smith-Leslie: 

 

We have reviewed New Mexico (NM) State Plan Amendment (SPA) NM-0001, submitted to the 

Dallas Regional Office on January 29, 2016.  Under this SPA, the state proposes to remove the lower, 

$2.50 dispensing fee, and apply a $3.65 dispensing fee to all Medicaid fee-for-service pharmacy 

claims without regard to product selection. 

 

We are pleased to inform you that the amendment is approved, effective February 1, 2016. 

 

A copy of the signed CMS-179 form, as well as the page approved for incorporation into the New 

Mexico state plan, will be forwarded by the Dallas Regional Office. 

 

If you have any questions regarding this amendment, please contact Ruth Blatt at (410) 786-1767. 

 

        

Sincerely, 

 

         /s/  

       

      John M. Coster, Ph.D.,R.Ph. 

      Director 

      Division of Pharmacy 

 

 

Cc: Bill Brooks, Associate Regional Administrator, Dallas Regional Office 

 Stacey Shuman, Dallas Regional Office 

Robert Stevens, MAD Chief, Program Policy & Integrity Bureau 

Jennifer Mondragon, MAD, Health Care Operations Manager 
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b. Usual and Customary Charge – The usual and customary charge is defined as the charge made  to 
 a non-Medicaid patient for the same drug item.  Usual and customary charges specifically must 
 consider the following: 
 

1. Discounts given to non-Medicaid patients for criteria such as age or being in a nursing 
home when the Medicaid patient meets the criteria for the discount. 

2. Discounts for paying cash.  If any patient group gets discounts for paying cash, those 
discounts must be reflected in the usual and customary charge. 

3. Medicaid is to be given the advantage of discounts that the general public receives. 
 

c. Prescription Refills – There are limitations on the frequency for which it will reimburse the same 
 pharmacy for dispensing the same drug to the same recipient.  The limitation is established 
 individually for each drug.  Most drugs are subject to a maximum of three (3) times in ninety (90) 
 days, with grace days as needed to account for necessary early refills, lost medications, dosage 
 changes, etc.  Controlled drugs and certain other drugs may require special consideration, as 
 necessary, due to their specific indication, dosage form, or packaging, and are subject to limitations as 
 may be appropriate.  Refills must be consistent with the dosage schedule prescribed and all existing 
 federal and state laws. 
 
 The maximum quantity that may be dispensed at one time is a thirty-four (34) day supply, except for 
 oral contraceptives that may be dispensed in greater quantities if the proper agent for the patient is 
 established, and for maintenance medications which may be dispensed up to a ninety (90) day supply. 
 

d. Dispensing Fee – The dispensing fee for pharmacies is $3.65.    The Department establishes the dispensing 
fee by taking into account such factors as the cost studies on pharmacy operations; the amount 
pharmacists have agreed to accept for providing similar services for Medicare part D and other contracts; 
dispensing fees paid by other common insurers, health maintenance organizations, and managed care 
organizations; and payments made by other state Medicaid programs that are similar to that of New 
Mexico. 

 
e. Reimbursement Limitations 
 

1. Payment will not be made for drug items for which the manufacturer has not entered into 
a rebate agreement with the federal government except as specified in the provisions of 
section 1902(a)(54)and 1927 of the Social Security Act. 
 

2. Payment will not be made to physicians for oral medication or medications that can be 
appropriately self-administered by the recipient.  Payment to physicians for drugs will be 
limited to injectable and other medications administered by the physician or under his 
direction. 
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