The Human Services Department mission is: To transform lives. Working with our partners, we design and deliver innovative, high quality health and human services that improve the security and promote independence for New Mexicans in their communities.

Electronic Health Records General Information and Announcements

Announcements and Updates

Change in Medicaid EHR Incentive Program Name

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Service (CMS) is changing the Medicaid Electronic Health Records (EHR) Incentive Program name to the Promoting Interoperability (PI) Program. On May 7, 2018, CMS issued a notice of proposed rulemaking that includes the name change. The program name change does not, in itself, alter any of the requirements or timelines associated with the program. The change is intended to reflect the program’s “increased focus on interoperability and improving patient access to health information.” The program may still have the reference of “EHR Incentive Program” in many documents. Providers and practices should not view documents with the pre-2018 program name as being valid. To read more abouth the program name change, click here for the CMS publication on the name change. This issue is discussed on page 20516 of that publication.

CMS is making the same name change to one performance category of the CMS Quality Payment Program (QPP) Merit-Based Incentive Payment System (MIPS) Program. The Advancing Care Information performance category is changing to the PI performance category. To find out more on how this rulemaking affects Medicare eligible clinicians participating in the PI (formerly Advancing Care Information) performance category of MIPS, visit the QPP website at https://qpp.cms/.

It is important to remember that:

  • The name change does NOT combine the Medicaid EHR Incentive Program with the CMS QPP MIPS program. They remain two separate programs.
  • Providers eligible for both the Medicaid EHR Incentive Program and the CMS QPP MIPS program can participate in both programs. The Medicaid EHR Incentive Program remains voluntary.

CMS 2015 EHR Final Rule

In October 16, 2015, CMS published in the Federal Register the new Final Rule: CMS EHR Incentive Program Stage 3 and Modifications to Meaningful Use in 2015 through 2017.  The Final Rule became effective on December 15, 2015.  This one Final Rule addresses the two separate notices of proposed rulemaking (NPRMs) that were advertised for public comment in the Spring of 2015.   There are some changes from what was proposed and what has been finalized. The components of this rule also govern the program for Program Year 2018.

Also on October 16, 2015 the Office of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology (ONC) published a Final Rule: 2015 Edition Health IT Certification Criteria or “2015 Edition,” which became effective January 14, 2016.

When can I attest for Program Year 2018?

The New Mexico State Level Registry (SLR) will be open for Program Year 2018 attestations during the following time periods:

  • Eligible Professionals (EPs): January 2 – April 30, 2019
  • Eligible Hospitals (EHs): January 2 – April 30, 2019

What’s Notable for Program Year 2018?

  • In PY 2018 and for the remainder of the program, Eligible Professionals (EPs) participating in the program must have attested in previous years.
  • All EPs must attest to MU objectives.  Attesting to AIU is no longer an option.
  • EPs have the option to attest to Stage 2 or Stage 3 MU objectives.  Beginning in PY 2019, Stage 3 will be required of all EPs.
  • EPs who wish to attest to Stage 3 objectives must use Certified EHR Technology (CEHRT) that is certified to the 2015 Edition or a combination of 2014/2015 Edition CEHRT.
  • There are 10 MU objectives for Stage 2, and 8 MU objectives for Stage 3.
  • Unlike in previous years, there are no alternate exclusions or specifications available.
  • All EPs may select an EHR Reporting Period of any continuous 90-day period from January 1, 2018 through December 31, 2018.
  • EPs attesting to MU for the second time or more must attest to a reporting period for Clinical Quality Measures (CQMs) of the full Calendar Year of 2018
  • EPs attesting to MU for the first time may select a CQM Reporting Period of any continuous 90-day period from January 1, 2018 through December 31, 2018.
  • EPs must conduct their Security Risk Assessment during Calendar Year 2018.

Click here for a list of key steps to take when completing your PY 2018 attestation.

For more information on the NM Medicaid Promoting Interoperability Program, please visit the Eligible Professionals  or Eligible Hospitals  sections on this website.

To read the most recent edition of the New Mexico Promoting Interoperability Program’s State Medicaid HIT Plan (SMHP), Please click here.

Click here  to access the CMS Promoting Interoperability Program website. For CMS answers to Frequently Asked Questions about the Promoting Interoperability Program, click here.

Click here to access the CMS Registration & Attestation System. This site is where EPs and EHs can make any changes to their CMS Promoting Interoperability accounts. For any technical problems that develop when making changes, please contact CMS at (833) 238-0203, or at .

See the Meaningful Use page(s) under Eligible Professionals or Eligible Hospitals on this website for more detail.

Promoting Interoperability Resources and Contact Information:

  • Program Policy and Public Information

  Valorie A. Vigil, Program Staff Manager


  Phone:  505-827-1321